Nz poet study

              BRIAN TURNER       

 

Brian Turner is a New Zealand poet, my two favorite poems he wrote are: The river in you and Trout.

 Brian was born on the 7 of May 1964.Brian Turner was a sporty man who played Hockey and Cricket he also lived in a small town with about 30-40 people.

He was born in New Zealand in Dunedin but is British, now he works in  a south African wine bar and restaurant called Vivat Bacchus

River you ←THE RIVER IN YOU LINK

 

trout ←TROUT LINK 

 

 I like his poems because of the way he has the rhythm when he speaks. It’s slow but fast, I specifically like the part when he says:

 

 for it’s never the same

 yet it’s always something like

what you think you remember

 from the time before. 

 

I also really enjoyed the part in trou when he says:

 you can hardly see him 

for nature’s camouflage: trout

 magnificent trout darkly

 speckled, toffee brown.

I like the way  he uses adjectives  in his poems, his voice is confident  and calm which I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *